Woonkamer Dordts Patriciershuis

Residents history

Who lived at no. 9 Wolwevershaven?

In 1609 the municipality of Dordrecht decides to excavate the Wolwevershaven. This creates a better flow whereby the Nieuwe Haven is no longer inaccessible. On both sides of the Wolwevershaven quays are constructed along which originally mainly industries settled. During a meeting of the Oudraad in 1645 it was decided to build houses on the quayside as well in order to boost the cloth industry.

New buildings in 1649

On 29th June 1649 Jacob Trip (son of Jacob Trip and Margaretha de Geer) buys a plot of land on the quay. Both on the father’s side and on the mother’s side this influential family is involved in the iron and weapons trade.

Jacob is a brother-in-law of Johan van Neurenberg, the owner of the premises on the Nieuwe Haven, which at present houses the museum Huis van Gijn. Two of Jacob’s brothers have given orders for the building of the famous ‘Trippenhuis’ in Amsterdam. That was then the largest residence in Amsterdam. Nowadays it is the home of the Academy of Science.

Widening the premises

In 1733 mr. J. Reepmaker combines the two adjoining premises which lends the outside of the building on the Wolwevershaven its current charm. Bridal couples regularly pose on the impressive steps for their wedding photos.

Annexe on the river side

At the end of the 18th century the residents are well aware of the unique location. In about 1780 mr. Pompejus Hoeufft gives the order for the construction of the Maas chamber (Maaskamer). This chamber has remained totally in the originally Louis XVI style. The other rooms of the house are (in this period) also fitted out in this style.

The burgomaster’s residence

In the corridor six pegs pierce the wall. This is where the halberds of the servants hung who continuously followed the burgomaster. They are the silent witnesses from the time of burgomaster Anthonij van den Santheuvel. He resided there until 1793.